President Buhari To Sign 2022 Appropriation Bill Into Law On Friday

President Buhari To Sign 2022 Appropriation Bill Into Law On Friday 4

President Muhammadu Buhari is expected to sign into law the 2022 Appropriation Bill on Friday, December 31, 2021, Punch reports.

Buhari has already received the 2022 Appropriation Bill passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on Tuesday and Wednesday, respectively.

The National Assembly had raised the total estimates from the proposed N16.39tn to N17.13tn.

The oil benchmark was raised from the proposed $57 per barrel to $62.

The breakdown of the budget includes N869bn for statutory allocation, N3.8tn for debt servicing, N6.9tn and N5.4tn for recurrent and capital expenditure respectively.

The 2022 Appropriation Bill was transmitted on Friday, December 24, 2021, by the Clerk to the National Assembly, Amos Ojo, and acknowledged by the Office of the Chief of Staff to the President on Saturday, December 25.

The transmission letter, with Reference Number NASS/CNA/37/Vol.1/35, addressed to the “President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria” and titled ‘APPROPRIATION BILL, 2022.’ read, “In consonance with the Provisions of the Acts Authentication Act Cap. A2, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, I wish, with due respect, to forward to Your Excellency, the authenticated copies of Appropriation Bill, 2022, for your consideration and assent.

“After Your Excellency’s assent, one copy of the signed bill should be retained in your office while the other two are to be returned for our further action, please.

“With my highest regards.”

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, confirmed to The PUNCH that the budget has been transmitted to the President by the National Assembly and will be assented to by President Buhari on Friday.

He said, “Yes, it’s true. The President will sign the 2022 budget on Friday.”

It was also learned that the signing ceremony has been slated for 10.00am at the Council Chamber, Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Other officials attending the ceremony include Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President of the Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, and a host of other presidential aides.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Related Posts
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x